2019 Hayward Award

Deadline to Register/Application Deadline: 
Monday, December 17, 2018 - 5:00pm

The Hayward Award is conferred upon four faculty members annually who have been nominated by peers from their college. Named for former California Community College Chancellor Gerald C. Hayward, the award honors outstanding community college faculty who have a track record of excellence both in teaching and in professional activities and have demonstrated commitment to their students, profession, and college. Recipients of the Hayward Award receive a plaque and a $1,250 cash award. A call for nominations goes out in November with an announcement letter, application, criteria and scoring rubric. This is a Board of Governors award, is sponsored by the Foundation for California Community Colleges, and recipients are recognized by the Board each March. The award winners are invited to attend a dinner with the Academic Senate President on Sunday night before the award ceremony and to attend the Board meeting to receive the award the next day. 

2018 HAYWARD AWARD winners

Press Release Hayward Awards Winners 

Area A: Shushanek Silvas, Fresno City College

Shushanek Silvas 


Area C: Adam Wetsman, Rio Hondo College

Adam Wetsman 


Area C: Brenda Chan, East Los Angeles College

Brenda Chan


Area D: Edwina Williams, Sociology, MiraCosta College
(MiraCosta College Vice President of Instruction Diane Dieckmeyer accepts the Hayward Award on behalf of winner Edwina Williams, who was unable to attend.)



Past Winners